What's onFather's DayLocal directoryOffers & competitionsJobsGive 'n' TakeHistoryMapFeatured
Contact usPost an eventLog in
South Glos Scaffolding Thornbury Golf Centre - Meet Tortworth Estate Farm Shop Tockington Manor School L.W.Clutterbuck, Funeral Director Memorial Woodlands: woodland cemetery and funeral directors Thornbury Radio Eastwood Park Weddings Phoenix Flooring Ltd Acton Court

What's on


Wednesday 29th May 2024

Acton Court Tours of House and Grounds

Acton Court, Iron Acton

The House and Grounds will be open for self-guided audio tours from Wednesday 29 May to Friday 28 June 2024. Closed Mondays and Tuesdays.

Admission to Acton Court gives access to the grounds, the Royal Apartments (associated with Henry VIII's visit), the ground floor area and any activities that may be taking place on the day - see below.

Audio guides plus visual and written information will be provided. There will be a selection of tours available.

Henry VIII and his 6 Queens
- Exhibition of Tudor Court Dress: This display is open every tour day and is free for ticket holders.
- Lady Samantha, of Tudor Queens Wardrobe and Tudor Royalty Experience, will be on site to talk about Tudor Court clothing and answer visitors’ questions on the following dates: Thursday 30 May, Saturday June 1, Sunday 2 June, Thursday 6 June, Friday 7 June, Sunday 9 June, Thursday 13 June, Saturday 15 June, Thursday 20 June, Saturday 22 June, Sunday 23 June, Thursday 27 June.

Merchants House Musicians
Sunday 16 June 2024: Mary MacDonald and Richard Eastwell specialise in European music of the Tudor and Medieval periods. They perform in period costume and play lively country dance tunes, as well as courtly pavans and basse dances.

Medieval and Tudor Plants
Sunday 23 June 2024: Mary Macdonald provides a display of Medieval and Tudor plants featuring many native species still grown at Acton Court. She will exhibit floral waters, medicinal plants, oil balms and syrups all made using recipes from the period. In winter, cough syrups, warming spices and balms were made whereas in Spring cleansing herbs and preparations were used.

Costumed garden guide
Wednesdays and weekends: Gardener Deb Randall, will be available on Wednesdays and weekends to show guests around the garden and grounds.

www.actoncourt.com/acton-court-to...
Email:



Venue information

Acton Court, Iron Acton
Acton Court, Latteridge Road, Iron Acton, BS37 9TL
www.actoncourt.com/



Froggle Parties

The Swan, Thornbury

Other events

Sunday 16th June 2024

Monday 17th June 2024

Tuesday 18th June 2024

Click here for more events.




© 2024 Cromhall Media Ltd