A Tudor House built for the pleasure of Henry VIII
Acton Court is believed to be the most original Tudor house in Britain. The East wing was built by Nicholas Poyntz in 1535 for a weekend visit by Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn.
Acton Court will open to the public from 5 July to 13 August 2017, closed Mondays and Tuesdays. Full access to the house and grounds is with a professional guide only. There are a number of special events throughout the season; please check the website below for details.
Latteridge Road, Iron Acton BS37 9TL
Tel: 01454 228224
Berkeley Castle is perfect for a family day out. The Castle and Gardens are open from Easter to October, and you can visit the Butterfly House from May to September.
In addition the Castle promotes a programme of special events throughout the year and is a unique and distinguished venue to hire for special occasions.
Check our website for opening times, prices and events.
Berkeley Castle, Berkeley GL13 9BQ
Tel: 01453 810303
The BBC Domesday Project created a snapshot of Britain in 1986. Originally published on laserdisc, which rapidly fell into obsolescence, the project is now available on-line.
The Birthplace of Vaccination
The Chantry, Church Lane, Berkeley GL13 9BN
Tel: 01453 810631
MyThornbury has partnered with the Francis Frith Collection to offer reprints of old photographs and maps.
Lots of links to historical resources for family history research.
Visit Eric Dodd's fascinating site for many photos of Thornbury past and modern, with some excellent side-by-side then-and-now comparisons.
Explore your neighbourhood online through historic maps, images and linked information with this digital heritage mapping project.
The origins of Porch House date back to at least the fifteenth century, though it has been altered and extended over the years. It has had a varied history – reputedly being attacked during the Civil War, and serving variously as farm house, private home, butcher’s shop, accountant’s office, tailor’s shop, home of the town football team, church and priest’s house. Porch House, which belongs to the Catholic Community in Thornbury, is used by many local community groups of all ages and interests and is the venue for popular amateur dramatics and other events.
Check out our website for a virtual tour of Porch House.
The museum was started in 1986 to house a collection of artefacts bequeathed to The Thornbury Society, and rapidly expanded. It is managed by the Thornbury & District Heritage Trust, a registered charity as well as a Trust company, and is supported by South Gloucestershire Council and Thornbury Town Council. It is an independent museum and financed by grants and donations. Come to visit our exhibition rooms, chat to our volunteers, visit our shop, enjoy your local museum.
The museum is next to the Armstrong Hall, and opening times are Tuesday to Friday 1-4pm, and Saturday 10-4pm. We have a small shop with books, leaflets, pamphlets, postcards, all of local interest.
Postal address: Thornbury & District Museum, c/o The Town Hall, 35 High Street, Thornbury, BS35 2AR
Chapel Street, Thornbury
Tel: 01454 857774
This site has an excellent database of monumental inscriptions from Thornbury Cemetery and St Mary's Church, complete with photographs, and has recently added the monumental inscriptions from the United Reformed Church as well as details of births, marriages and burials from the URC registers up to about 1900.
There's a searchable database of Thornbury Trade directories, with 24 directories included, covering the period 1790 to 1939. There are also various Voter Lists, Coroners Lists, Street Directories and a gallery of old Thornbury adverts from local businesses.
There are in-depth histories of the houses in many of the older streets of Thornbury and of the families who lived in them with an extensive collection of photographs.
Historical information and statistics about the town and area from the Vision of Britain project.
Thornbury's War Memorials are based at St Mary's Church.
Woodchester Mansion is a 19th Century Victorian Gothic Masterpiece mysteriously abandoned mid-construction in 1873. Hidden in a secluded Cotswold valley, it is untouched by time and the modern world.